Curriculum

The curriculum at CRGS Sixth Form is personalised to each individual. It offers a flexible approach for students, facilitating the most appropriate programme of study and opportunities for future paths. The curriculum also reflects our philosophy and aims to encourage students to:

  • Develop lively, enquiring minds capable of original thought and well-balanced critical argument.
  • Become confident, independent learners well-equipped for lifelong learning.
  • Derive enjoyment from their learning which should extend their intellectual capacity, develop their interest and stimulate their curiosity.
  • Embrace the many opportunities afforded by developments in information and communication technologies, whilst fully accepting the responsibilities that go with using them properly.
  • Engage in a broad programme of experiences which enable them to appreciate their cultural inheritance and understand more about themselves and the world in which they live.
  • Develop the capacities to make informed, rational and responsible decisions and to work in ways which enhance their self-respect and sensitivity to the needs of others, particularly those less advantaged than themselves.
  • Develop a range of reasoned beliefs and values and a sympathy and respect for those held by others, which will prepare them to become considerate and responsible citizens.

Our Sixth Form curriculum offers students the opportunity to study A Levels and reach the highest possible standards of attainment. On offer is a diverse range of 26 A Levels.

We give students a free choice of subjects and then plan our timetable based on their choices.

All students study linear A Levels which are examined at the end of the two-year course. In addition, students have the opportunity to undertake an Extended Project Qualification (EPQ) and Core Maths. Applicants to the Sixth Form are initially asked to choose 4 A Level subjects in order of preference and they have the opportunity to discuss their choices at an Options Meeting in January-March. Currently, the majority of students start with 4 A Levels, with many deciding to focus on their three chosen subjects after a few months.

The CRGS Study Programme also includes a weekly guidance programme and a compulsory week of Work Experience.

We have received a small amount of funding from the 16-19 Tuition Fund.

Click the links below to download each document.

The subjects currently on offer at A Level are:

Browse the Subject Information Sheets Watch a short video from the Head of Learning Email the Head of Learning with your questions
Art and Design Mr Matthews ArtDesign@crgs.org.uk
Biology Dr Ellis Biology@crgs.org.uk
Business Mrs Payne Business@crgs.org.uk
Chemistry Mrs Speirs Chemistry@crgs.org.uk
Classical Civilisation Mr Westworth Latin_Classics@crgs.org.uk
Computer Science Mr Latty Computerscience@crgs.org.uk
Design & Technology: Product Design Mrs Starkie Productdesign@crgs.org.uk
Drama and Theatre Ms Elliot Theatre-Drama@crgs.org.uk
Economics Mrs Compton Economics@crgs.org.uk
English Language Mrs Salt Englishsixthformteam@crgs.org.uk
English Literature Mrs Salt Englishsixthformteam@crgs.org.uk
English Language and Literature Combined Mr Joseph Englishsixthformteam@crgs.org.uk
French Mrs Pratt French@crgs.org.uk
Geography Mr Powell Geography@crgs.org.uk
German Mrs Pratt German@crgs.org.uk
History Mr Seed History@crgs.org.uk
Mathematics Mrs Mann Mathematics@crgs.org.uk
Further Mathematics Mrs Mann Mathematics@crgs.org.uk
Music Mr Wheeler Music@crgs.org.uk
Physics Mr Mumford Physics@crgs.org.uk
Physical Education Miss Sutcliffe PE@crgs.org.uk
Politics Mr Wootton Politics@crgs.org.uk
Psychology Mrs Blow Psychology@crgs.org.uk
Religious Studies Mr Priory ReligiousStudies@crgs.org.uk
Sociology Mr Gregory Sociology@crgs.org.uk
Spanish Mrs Pratt Spanish@crgs.org.uk