Our experienced and highly committed, motivated and enthusiastic staff are available to answer any questions. Please email or telephone our sites if you require any information.

Main School 01200 423379
Sixth Form 01200 423118

Clitheroe Royal Grammar School is an exciting place to work. If you wish to join our team please go to our vacancies section and click on a job title for further details and an application form.

The school is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people and expects all staff and volunteers to share this commitment. Successful applicants will be subject to Disclosure and Barring Service checks.

Senior Leadership Team

Mr J M Keulemans Headteacher
Mrs K L Johnston Deputy Headteacher
Mrs C S Reeves Deputy Headteacher
Mr J O Alcock Assistant Headteacher
Miss H E Ashton Assistant Headteacher
Miss J Renold Assistant Headteacher
Dr A M Ellis Co-opted
Ms L C Higginbottom Bursar

Teaching Staff

Art and Design

Mr M H Matthews – Head of Learning
Miss N Butterworth
Mrs L Smith


Dr A M Ellis – Head of Learning
Mrs J Carson
Dr N Clarke
Miss A L Hacking
Mrs H J Hough
Miss G E Marsden
Miss K Robson
Mrs R Sharp
Mr P T Smith


Mrs J A Payne – Head of Learning
Mrs L J Wilkinson


Miss S L Speirs – Head of Learning
Dr G L Brown
Miss S Flook
Mrs N S Nicholas

Design and Technology

Mrs M E Starkie – Head of Learning

Food Preparation and Nutrition
Mrs K J Buchanan


Mrs C E Compton – Head of Learning


Mrs E J Gardiner – Head of Learning
Mrs D A Doggart
Mrs C V Fish
Mrs R A Johnson
Mr D J Joseph
Mrs J L Mangan
Mrs F M Salt
Mr M P Seddon
Ms H G Southwell


Mr R Gadd – Head of Learning
Mrs L Hunter


Mr C T Seed – Head of Learning
Mrs M J Blane
Mrs K L Johnston
Miss M N Quraishi

ICT / Computing

Mr M D Latty – Head of Learning
Mrs H J Clarkson

Latin / Classics

Mr D Westworth – Head of Learning


Mrs S Mann – Head of Learning
Mrs S J Babb
Mrs M L Burrill
Mr W C Capstick
Mr A K Carson
Mrs N T Entwistle
Mr D N Holloway
Mr J P McKenzie
Mr N D Markopouliotis
Miss C R Martin
Mr R C Wallace

Modern Foreign Languages

Mrs L M Pratt – Head of Learning

Mrs L C Watts – Head of Learning
Miss J J Telford

Mrs A Banks
Mrs D Furnell

Miss J W Bennett
Miss A Cancelliere
Mrs K Humphreys


Mr B J Wheeler – Head of Learning

Visiting Music Teachers
Mr G Banks
Mr M Haworth
Miss J Hunter
Mrs J Ismail
Ms R Okpoti
Mrs J Pembleton-Smyth
Mr R Rigby
Ms E Wilson

PE / Games

Miss R L Sutcliffe – Head of Learning
Mr J O Alcock
Mr R J Edmondson
Mr A D Hutchinson
Mrs S J Winstanley


Mr S Mumford – Head of Learning
Miss H E Ashton
Mr S B Mumba
Miss J Renold


Mr J J Wootton – Head of Learning
Mr S D Draper


Mrs R Blow – Head of Learning
Miss C Fox
Mrs S Gillespie
Mrs C A Hoyle

Religious Studies

Mr A F Priory – Head of Learning
Mrs C S Reeves
Miss Z Sefton



Mr S Gregory – Head of Learning
Ms G Clark

Theatre Studies and Drama

Ms D P Elliot – Head of Learning

Pastoral Support

Heads of Year / Main School Team

Mrs C S Reeves – Deputy Headteacher
Mr J O Alcock – Assistant Headteacher

Mr J J Wootton – Head of Year 7
Mr A K Carson – Head of Year 8
Miss C R Martin – Head of Year 9
Mr A D Hutchinson – Head of Year 10
Mrs L Hunter – Head of Year 11

Mrs R E Crow – Student Support Manager
Miss L J Sumner – Student Support Manager

Senior Tutors / Sixth Form Team

Mrs K L Johnston – Deputy Headteacher
Miss H E Ashton – Assistant Headteacher

Mr S D Draper
Mr R J Edmondson
Mr S Gregory
Mr D J Joseph
Mrs N S Nicholas
Mr P T Smith

Dr N Clarke – Medicine/Dentistry/Veterinary Science Programme
Mrs M J Dickinson – Careers and Educational Visits Co-ordinator
Mrs J Roberts – Student Support Manager
Mrs R Thompson – Student Support Manager

Support Staff


Miss J L Duerden – Secretary Sixth Form
Ms C M Ference – Examinations and Assessment Officer
Ms L C Higginbottom – Bursar
Mrs V Howard – Careers Administrator
Mrs K Kinney – Secretary Main School
Mrs K Lace – Human Resources Officer
Mrs C Monist-Goode – Examinations Administrator
Mrs A J Moore – Assessment and Data Manager
Miss E A Nash – Receptionist / Secretary Sixth Form
Mrs A Shepherd – Receptionist / Secretary Sixth Form
Mrs J Simpson – Administrative Assistant
Mrs J M Smith – Receptionist / Secretary Main School
Mrs S Stevens – Personnel Assistant
Mrs S M Swanney – Finance Assistant
Mrs C E West – Finance Manager
Ms M J Woods – Headteacher’s PA

IT Technical Support

Mr D P Vernon – Network Manager
Mr J Hill – Deputy Network Manager

Special Educational Needs and Disabilities Co-ordinator

Mrs R E Smith

Reprographics Technician

Mrs J Sutcliffe

Art, Design and Technology Technicians

Mrs C M Dakin
Mr M Longhi

Laboratory Technicians

Mrs J Holden
Mrs J L Opit
Mr M Stuttard
Mrs L Turner

Librarian Sixth Form

Miss K Pulman

Library Supervisor Main School

Mrs C Harkness

Special Support Assistants

Mrs J Fielding
Mrs S Mackenzie

Cover Supervisors

Miss C Wilson
Ms K Wright


Mr T Dean – Estates Manager
Mr C Kett – Site Supervisor
Mr J Robbins – Site Supervisor

Cleaning Staff

York Street

Mr S Haslam
Mrs C Hulme
Mr M Isherwood
Mr P Lancaster
Mr S Muddiman
Mrs M Penman
Mr R Rowland
Ms L Sargeant

Chatburn Road

Mrs A Buxton
Mr R Fahrner
Mr P Hoyle
Mr E Penman
Mrs Y Pinder
Mr D Whittaker

Lunchtime Supervisors

Mrs C Billups
Miss J Brown
Miss C Hargreaves
Miss S Hughes
Miss S Jilani
Miss S Monks
Ms A Moore
Mr P Taylor
Mrs L Tedstone

Foreign Language Assistants

Miss R M Fijalkowski
Mrs P Holloway
Dr F Ritchie