Governing Body

The governors of Clitheroe Royal Grammar School play a vital role in providing strategic leadership, ensuring accountability and acting as a critical friend. They support the school and Headteacher in promoting high standards of educational achievement and welfare of students and monitoring and reviewing the aims and objectives, targets and policies.

Membership of the Governing Body

Dr A D Clayton Foundation Governor (Chairman of Governing Body)
Mr J Sutton Foundation Governor (Vice-Chairman of Governing Body)
Mr J O Alcock Staff Governor
Mr M Blacklidge Foundation Governor
Mrs M Brennan-Bargh Parent Governor
Mr A G Clavell Bate Foundation Governor (CEIAG Governor)
Mr M Frankish Parent Governor
Mrs J Holden Staff Governor
Mr J M Keulemans Headteacher
Ms J I Pinder Foundation Governor
Mr A F Priory Staff Governor
Mr A Rogers Community Governor (Chairman of Finance Committee)
Mr A Scholfield Community Governor (Chairman of Estates Committee)
Mrs A Singh Parent Governor
Mr P Smalley Parent Governor
Mrs A Taylor Co-opted Governor (SEN Governor)
Mr P Watson Community Governor
Mrs J E Wenborn Co-opted Governor
Dr H F Whitehead Member Governor
Mr J K Harwood Clerk to the Governing Body

Relevant business interests:  None

Contact details for all the school governors are as follows:

Clitheroe Royal Grammar School
York Street
Tel: 01200 423118

The composition of the Governing Body of the school is laid down in the Articles of Association of Clitheroe Royal Grammar School (the Academy Trust). It is designed to be representative both of the local community and of those with a valid interest in the well-being of the school.

The Governing Body at Clitheroe Royal Grammar School is made up of 5 Foundation Governors, 4 Parent Governors, 3 Staff Governors, 4 Community Governors, 3 Co-opted Governors, 1 Member Governor and the Headteacher (ex officio Governor).

Categories of Governor


Foundation Governors

The Foundation Governors at Clitheroe Royal Grammar School are appointed by the Trustees of the charity of the school, The Clitheroe Royal Grammar School Foundation, and are appointed for the purpose of securing that the character of the school is preserved and developed i.e. a selective 11 to 16 grammar school with an open access sixth form. They are also appointed to ensure that the school is conducted in accordance with the Foundation’s governing documents.

Parent Governors

Parents, including carers, of registered pupils at the school are eligible to stand for election as a Parent Governor. They are elected by other parents at the school.

Staff Governors

The three Staff Governors are elected by the school staff. Both teaching and support staff paid to work at the school are eligible for staff governorship.

Community Governors

Community Governors are appointed by the Governing Body to represent community interests. They are people who live or work in the community served by the school, or people who live outside of the immediate area and who are committed to the good governance and success of the school.

Co-opted Governors

The Governors may appoint up to three co-opted Governors to provide the Governing Body with particular expertise, experience and skills.

Member Governor

The Members of Clitheroe Royal Grammar School (the Academy Trust) may appoint up to one Governor.

The Headteacher (ex officio)

Under the Articles of Association the Headteacher at Clitheroe Royal Grammar School is a full member of the Governing Body.

The Governing Body is chaired by Dr. A.D. Clayton BSc PhD CEng MIChemE.

Full Governing Body meetings are held 3 times per year.

The following committees meet as appropriate:

  • Admissions Committee
  • Chair’s Committee
  • Estates Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Students and Staffing Committee
  • Curriculum and Achievement Committee

At these meetings specific issues are discussed in greater detail.

Any request for further details regarding the policies and procedures of the Governing Body should be addressed to Dr. A. D. Clayton, Chairman of the Governing Body, Clitheroe Royal Grammar School, Chatburn Road, Clitheroe, BB7 2BA.

Links to key documents are available below:

View the Annual Report 2017-2018
View the Annual Report 2016-2017
View the Annual Report 2015-2016
View the Annual Report 2014-2015
View the Annual Report 2013-2014
View the Code of Conduct
View the Funding Agreement
View the Articles of Association (Revised December 2018)
View the Value for Money Statement